Transitional Housing

Fayette County Community Action Commission operates a transitional program through the Housing & Urban Development’s Continuum of Care process and the Ohio Development Services Agency. This program allows low-income individuals access rent subsidies from 6 months to 2 years, based on availability and individual family needs. Services include: housing, self-sufficiency planning, and transportation.

Mission Statement

It is the mission of the Fayette County Transitional Housing to provide quality supportive services and rental subsidies to families in the aftermath of homelessness in order to provide a strong foundation for their future.


Community Action Commission of Fayette County began providing services to the homeless in 1983 and opened the shelter in 1985. When the shelter opened in 1985 it was primarily funded by the Ohio Department of Health. Transitional Housing was started in 1990 through a grant from the Department of Housing and Urban Development’s Continuum of Care Competition.

Eligibility – Individuals must reside in Emergency Shelter in Fayette County and be under 35% of Area Median Income.


Gaye Huffman @ 740.333.7580